european network for the study of adrenal tumors


working groups

ENS@T operates in four core Working Groups

ACC Working Group

Massimo Terzolo, MD
Head of Department of Internal Medicine I
University of Torino
Regione Gonzole 10
Torino, Italy

Period in office: 2019-2025

Scientific Board:
Cristina Ronchi, Birmingham, UK
Barbara Altieri
, Würzburg, Germany
Rossella Libe
, Paris, France
Letizia Canu
, Florence, Italy
Matthias Kroiss
, Munich, Germany
Enzo Lalli, Nice, France

period in office: 2024-2027

Pheo/PPGL Working Group

Dr Judith FAVIER

Research Director, Head of the Genetics and Metabolism of Rare Cancers Laboratory, INSERM U970 – Paris-Cardiovascular Research Centre of the Georges Pompidou Hospital (HEGP), University Paris, Paris, France

Judith Favier was trained as a molecular and cellular biologist as a PhD at the Collège de France (Paris) and a post-doctoral fellow at the Montreal Heart Institute (Canada), during which she studied the role of HIF2a in angiogenesis. Since, her main research interest has been the study of the genetics and the biology of pheochromocytomas and paragangliomas with a particular focus on SDHB-mutated tumors. She holds a Research Director position in the French National Institute of Health and Medical Research (INSERM) and leads the team “Genetics and Metabolism of Rare Cancers” at the PARCC-HEGP. She is the Co-Chairman of the «Animals models» working group of the Pheochromocytoma Research Support Organization (PRESSOR) and was the previous co-chair of PRESSOR (2015-2018). She is an Associate Editor at the Endocrine-related Cancer journal.

Period in office as Head of PPGL WG and treasurer: 2021-2024

Scientific Board:
Henri Timmers, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Mercedes Robledo, Madrid, Spain
Akiyo Tanabe, Tokyo, Japan
Elena Rapizzi, Florence, Italy
Rodrigo Toledo
, Barcelona, Spain

period in office: 2022-2026

APA Working Group

Marcus Quinkler, MD

Berlin, Germany

Marcus Quinkler is Professor of Internal Medicine and Endocrinology and consultant in the endocrine outpatient center “Endocrinology in Charlottenburg” in Berlin, Germany.

His clinical research focus includes adrenal physiology and pathophysiology, endocrine hypertension, pituitary disease, and mineralocorticoid and glucocorticoid action.

Professor Quinkler is a member of the Endocrine Society, European Society of Endocrinology and European Network of the study of adrenal tumors. He was speaker of the German Adrenal section of the DGE (German Endocrine Society), and is associated faculty member of the Charité University Medicine Berlin, Germany.

period in office: 2021-2024

Scientific Board:

Peter Igaz, Budapest, Hungary
Sheerazed Boulkroun, Paris, France
Mitsuhide Naruse, Kyoto, Japan
Aleksander Prejbisz, Warsaw, Poland

Marta Araujo-Castro, Madrid, Spain

period in office: 2022-2026

NAPACA Working Group

Cristina Ronchi MD, PhD, FRCP, DSc

Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research (IMSR)

University of Birmingham

& Centre for Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism (CEDAM)

Birmingham Health Partners

Birmingham, UK

& Department of Endocrinology and Diabetes

University Hospital of Wuerzburg

Wuerzburg (Germany)

Dr Cristina L Ronchi is Reader in Endocrine Oncology at the Institute of Metabolism and Systems Research (University of Birmingham, UK). She is also Consultant Endocrinologist at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham, where she serves as the Lead of the Adrenal Tumour Specialist Service. Her current research field focuses on the molecular pathogenesis of adrenocortical tumours and Cushing syndrome as well as novel prognostic markers for patients with adrenocortical cancer.

Dr Ronchi is a member of many national and international societies, is on the editorial board of several international journals and coordinated multiple studies on behalf of the ENS@T. 

period in office: 2021-2024

Scientific Board:
Guido di Dalmazi, Bologna, Italy
Martin Fassnacht, Würzburg, Germany
Darko Kastelan, Zagreb, Croatia
Iacopo Chiodini, Milan, Italy
Anna Angelousi, Athens, Greece

period in office: 2024-2027

  © ENS@T - European Network for the Study of Adrenal Tumors 2002 - 2012